Error message

Strict warning: Only variables should be passed by reference in eval() (line 10 of /home/aspirany/public_html/modules/php/php.module(80) : eval()'d code).

About Us

About Us
About Us

STAFF:

Chief Excutive Officer: Carmen Diaz-Malvido - executivedirector@nyaspira.org
Chief Program Officer: Renard Cardona - rcardona@nyaspira.org
Chief Financial Officer: Sunil Anand - sanand@nyaspira.org
Senior Accounting: Ritchie Christian - rchristian@nyaspira.org
Compliance & IT Director: Jose Gonzalez - jgonzalez@nyaspira.org
Communications Coordinator: Stacey Leatham - sleatham@nyaspira.org
Human Resources Director: Icy Myrick - imyrick@nyaspira.org

WHERE IT ALL STARTED: ASPIRA OF NEW YORK
 
Since 1961, ASPIRA of New York, the founding ASPIRA organization, has been dedicated to serving New York City youth and their families, providing opportunities that would otherwise not be available to them, and serving as an effective advocate, fighting to improve education in the Puerto Rican and Latino communities. In the 50 years since it was organized by a group of concerned community leaders led by Dr. Antonia Pantoja – a 1996 Presidential Medal of Freedom Awardee- ASPIRA of New York has served thousands of New York City children, youth, parents, schools, and other community based agencies, establishing a record of providing high quality, comprehensive programs and services.

 

 
THE ASPIRA MOVEMENT
 
Over the last half century, the highly successful ASPIRA model has grown to become a national movement and the largest national Latino youth organization in the country, with an extensive national, state and local presence through its ASPIRA Associates in nine states and Puerto Rico.
 
The ASPIRA Association, the national organization that brings together the ASPIRA Associates, is the only national Latino organization dedicated exclusively to developing the educational and leadership development of Latino youth. Over its 50 years, ASPIRA has served over a half million youth and their families. While almost 40% of Latino youth fail to graduate from high school, over 90% of Aspirantes complete high school and go on to college. More information about the ASPIRA Movement is available here.
 
 
OUR MISSION
 
To foster the social advancement of the Puerto Rican/Latino community by supporting its youth in the pursuit of educational excellence through leadership development activities and programs that emphasize commitment to the community and pride in the Puerto Rican/Latino culture.
 
 
VISION STATEMENT
 
To be the premier Latino youth services organization in New York, helping Latino youth to aspire to improve their lives through educational excellence, and to better their communities through enlightened leadership.